HelpWin

HelpWin / Guides

Comparison, read from each vendor's own page

Calendly, Square Appointments, Acuity or HelpWin Book Button: which fits a small service business?

We compared what four booking tools state on their own pricing pages. All four put a booking page in front of customers; they differ on free plans, on taking a payment at booking, and on whether they handle quote requests. HelpWin makes one of the four, so we count only what each vendor's own page states and show every quote.

The comparison

What the page statesCalendlySquare AppointmentsAcuity SchedulingHelpWin Book ButtonMade by HelpWin
Free optionStated: A free plan is listed; the page calls it always free quoteNot found on the page: Not stated in the page text we could readNot offered: No free plan; a free trial is offered quoteNot offered: Paid; reserving a place is free until checkout opens quote
Lowest paid price listedListed: $10 per seat per month, Standard plan quoteNot found on the page: Prices were not in the page text we could readListed: $16 per month, Starter plan; the page shows two prices per plan and does not say which is which quoteListed: $29 per month, with an annual option when checkout opens quote
Takes a payment or deposit at bookingStated: Payments through Stripe or PayPal are listed on a paid plan quoteStated: A partial deposit can be collected when an appointment is scheduled quoteStated: Payments through several providers are listed quoteNot found on the page: Not stated on its page
Booking widget for a site you already havePartly stated: The page mentions adding Calendly to your website quoteStated: A booking widget can be embedded in an existing website quoteNot found on the page: Not stated in the page text we could readStated: Added to Wix, WordPress, Squarespace or any site with one line of code quote
Hosted booking page you can link toStated: A customizable booking page is listed quoteStated: A booking website can be created quoteStated: Client self-scheduling is listed quoteStated: The same booking page works as a Google Business Profile link quote
Quote requests, not only time slotsNot found on the page: Not stated on its pricing pageNot found on the page: Not stated on its pricing pageNot found on the page: Not stated on its pricing pageStated: Customers pick a time or ask for a quote quote

A filled dot means the vendor's own page states it. A hatched dot means we did not find it stated, which is not the same as the vendor lacking it.

Which one fits which job

You take a payment or deposit when someone books

Calendly, Square Appointments and Acuity each state payment support on their pricing pages (Calendly lists it on a paid plan). The Book Button page does not mention payments, so if a deposit is essential to your booking, start with one of those three.

You quote jobs before you schedule them

Trades such as landscaping and roofing often price a job before choosing a time. HelpWin's Book Button page states that customers can pick a time or ask for a quote. The other three pricing pages do not say either way, which is not the same as no: check each vendor's help pages before you rule one out.

You want to start free

Calendly's page lists a free plan, with limits you should read before relying on it. Acuity says it does not offer free scheduling and offers a free trial instead. We could not read Square's plan names or prices from its page text, so we make no claim about its free option.

You want booking on a site you already have

Square's page says a booking widget can be embedded in an existing website, and HelpWin's page says Book Button goes onto Wix, WordPress, Squarespace or any site with one line of code. Calendly's page mentions adding it to your website. The Acuity page text we read did not say. Our route map shows the install path for each builder.

What we could not verify

  • Square Appointments: plan names and prices were not in the page text we could read, so its price cell is empty rather than guessed.
  • Features per plan: a feature listed on a pricing page may belong to a higher plan. Where a cell depends on a plan, it says so.
  • Prices change. Each quote below carries the date we read it. Check the vendor's page before you buy.
  • We did not use the tools. This is a reading of each vendor's own statements, not a hands-on test of how well each one works.

How we compared

  • We read each vendor's pricing page on the date shown and copied the exact sentence behind every cell.
  • A filled dot means the page states the feature. An empty hatched dot means we did not find it stated, which is not the same as the vendor lacking it.
  • No vendor paid for a place here, and none saw the page before it was published.
  • HelpWin sells Book Button, one of the four. The only reason to trust the comparison is that every cell carries its own quote, so you can check any of them yourself.

What each page says

VendorThe exact words on the pageSourceRead
CalendlyAlways freeCalendly pricing page2026-10-24
Acuity SchedulingAcuity doesn’t offer free appointment scheduling at this timeAcuity Scheduling pricing page2026-10-24
HelpWin Book ButtonCheckout is not open yet, so reserving costs nothing and takes no card.HelpWin Book Button page2026-10-24
CalendlyStandard Add Notetaker & Callie $10 /seat/moCalendly pricing page2026-10-24
Acuity SchedulingStarter $16 / monthAcuity Scheduling pricing page2026-10-24
HelpWin Book ButtonBook Button is $29 a month, and there will be an annual option.HelpWin Book Button page2026-10-24
CalendlyPayments Connect Stripe, PayPalCalendly pricing page2026-10-24
Square AppointmentsCollect a partial deposit when appointments are scheduledSquare Appointments pricing page2026-10-24
Acuity SchedulingPayments via Stripe, Square, PayPal, VenmoAcuity Scheduling pricing page2026-10-24
CalendlyCustomize colors when you add Calendly to your websiteCalendly pricing page2026-10-24
Square Appointmentsembed a booking widget into an existing websiteSquare Appointments pricing page2026-10-24
HelpWin Book ButtonWorks on Wix, WordPress, Squarespace or any site: one line of codeHelpWin Book Button page2026-10-24
CalendlyCustomizable booking pageCalendly pricing page2026-10-24
Square AppointmentsCreate and customize a booking websiteSquare Appointments pricing page2026-10-24
Acuity SchedulingClient self-schedulingAcuity Scheduling pricing page2026-10-24
HelpWin Book Buttonthe same booking page works as the link on your Google Business ProfileHelpWin Book Button page2026-10-24
HelpWin Book ButtonCustomers pick a time or ask for a quote.HelpWin Book Button page2026-10-24

Questions

Is Calendly free for a small service business?

Calendly's pricing page lists a free plan and calls it always free. Taking payments at booking is listed on a paid plan, so a business that wants deposits needs one.

Does Acuity Scheduling have a free plan?

Its pricing page says it does not offer free appointment scheduling at this time, and it offers a free trial instead.

Which of these handles quote requests for jobs?

Of the four, only HelpWin's Book Button page states quote requests. The other three pricing pages do not say either way, so check each vendor before ruling one out.

HelpWin publishes this guide and sells online booking tools for local businesses, including the upcoming Book Button. We wrote it to be useful whether or not you ever use them. Published 2026-10-24, updated 2026-10-24, by HelpWin.